What everyone ought to know about the Beatitudes

4 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 LinkedIn 0 StumbleUpon 0 Reddit 0 Pin It Share 3 Email -- Filament.io 4 Flares ×

When we read Matthew chapter 5 we will see the 8 beatitudes of Jesus Christ.


He said:

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn,
for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek,
for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart,
for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.
10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

But what are these Beatitudes? When we hear the word “blessed” what does that mean? Are these merely promises we can hold on to or is there a deeper meaning behind the verses?

With one glance, one would immediately notice that the Beatitudes contain 8 conditions and then a certain promise with it. We can view verse 11 as the 9th beatitude but it is actually just an expansion of verse 10. Notice the difference in the wording from verse 10 to verse 11. Verse 10 says, “Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness” while verse 11 says, “Blessed are you when people insult you.” Verse 11 shows an elaborated view of persecution mentioned in verse 10.

The word “blessed” was always used as a beginning statement. Here Jesus is speaking to his disciples, gathered at his feet and surrounded by a crowd listening intently to his teaching. As He was addressing his disciples he pronounces them blessed. The word “Beatitude” is from the Latin word happiness or blessedness. Thus this 8 beatitudes is Jesus declaring his disciples blessed and very fortunate.

The Promises was also sandwich between future and present assurances. Notice from verse 4 to verse 10 the promises are for the future. “They shall be comforted”…”they shall inherit the earth”…they shall be satisfied” and many more. But the promise in verse 6 and 10 relates to the present – “theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” By sandwiching the future promises with the present, Jesus is telling his disciples that when you are part of the kingdom these future promises are yours. Being part of Jesus’ kingdom (family) will give you comfort, earthly ownership, righteousness by the power of God, mercy, a vision of God, and an adoption or title we don’t deserve, son of God. All these are yours! They come as part of being in the kingdom or family of God.   I like what John Piper said is his sermon about the Beatitude and the Gospel of the Kingdom.

The disciples sit at Jesus’ feet and hear his words as congratulations. “O how fortunate you are, my dear brothers! O how fortunate you are to be chosen of God, to have your eyes opened, to be drawn to the Savior, to be poor and mourning and meek and hungry and merciful and pure and peaceable! Rejoice! Rejoice and give thanks, my beloved disciples, that you are this kind of person, for it is not your own doing! It is the reign of God in your life.”

So the beatitudes are words of celebration for disciples—people who have been awakened by the present power of the age to come. And they are words of invitation for the crowds—the people who come to worship out of tradition or curiosity or skepticism. And for some they are words of transformation—by the power and mercy of God.

If you are clearly aware that you are a child of God and part of the kingdom of God. Rejoice with me! We need to see it as a person poor in spirit – we don’t deserve this kind of privilege but because of the grace of God, it was provided!  But if you are right now, not sure where you stand. Let me give you an invitation to know what each beatitude really means.

This is part of the series about the 8 beatitudes of Jesus Christ. May it all bless us and help us in knowing God more.

Please read the articles in my series. I would love to hear your thoughts about them by leaving a comment below.

Share the message!

About Marc Sorongon

is servant of Jesus Christ. He serves and heads the B1G South Ministry and is actively involved in speaking. He enjoys eating burritos, burgers and Persian food. Add him in Facebook, Twitter and Google+
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Check my Top Posts & Pages

    What is Spiritual Perseverance?
    Why God Told Moses "Why are you crying out to me?"
    Trust God. He is in Control.
    Nehemiah 13 Sermon
    Three ways to plug-in the power of the Holy Spirit
    One lesson we can learn from Jesus washing the disciples’ feet